Computer Science


The Department of Computer Science offers a discipline that focuses on the complete software development process including design, programming and testing. In 1961, the University of Dayton became one of the first schools in the country to develop an undergraduate program in Computer Science. The department offers a Master degree in Computer Science and two programs leading to the Bachelor of Science degree: Computer Science and Computer Information Systems.

Our students are hired by companies such as Procter & Gamble, AT&T Communications, CompuServe, Dayton Power & Light, JPMorgan Chase, Teradata, NexSens Tech, General Electric, NASA Space Flight Center, Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, LexisNexis, Reynolds and Reynolds, Microsoft, Amazon, Google, and many others.

The Bachelor of Science in Computer Science is ABET accredited.
In the News
Faculty 04.15.19
Mann Chair in the Sciences

The University of Dayton has appointed Umesh Haritashya as the Brother Leonard A. Mann, S.M., Chair in the Sciences. Haritashya is an associate professor of geology. He joined the University faculty in 2008.

Read more
Sciences 03.18.19
Autonomous Systems Certificate

The University of Dayton College of Arts and Sciences launched a graduate certificate program in autonomous systems to prepare industry professionals and master’s degree students to meet the growing demand for expertise in automated decision-making systems and artificial intelligence.

Read more
Sciences 06.21.18
Coding for All

Roller coaster loop-the-loops met functional loop statements at a University of Dayton summer coding camp that made learning the basics of computer programming fun and engaging for local middle school students.

Read more

Department of Computer Science

300 College Park
Dayton, Ohio 45469 - 2160