Liberal Arts Scholarship Catalyst Grants Program

About the Program

A program for College of Arts and Sciences tenure-line faculty

A top priority of the College's Strategic Plan 2020 is "enhancing the scholarly profile of College faculty and students, while affirming the teacher-scholar model and celebrating the broad range of scholarship, artistic production and performance present in the College." The launch of the STEM Catalyst Grants program represented an important step and investment in faculty scholarship.

Beginning in spring 2018, the College now offers the Liberal Arts Scholarship Catalyst (LASC) Grants program to support faculty scholarship in the liberal arts. This includes scholarship from the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Arts divisions of the College.

The LASC Grants program makes available, on a competitive basis, funds for scholarly and creative work that shows clear potential for increasing a faculty member's research productivity and advancing professional goals (including pursuit of external funding and application for promotion). Up to $60,000 of funding is available in the inaugural 2018-19 year. 

Given existing sources of research support for tenure-track faculty, most notably Research Council Seed Grants, and the dearth of comparable internal programs for tenured faculty, LASC grants are limited to tenured faculty in the Humanities, Social Sciences and Arts divisions of the College. Grants support work that take place during the summer and the following academic year.


The application deadline is March 16. Awards will be announced by April 6. 

Call for Applications (pdf) >

Budget Template (xlsx) >

Contact Us

Jon Hess
Associate Dean for Faculty Scholarship, Internationalization and Inclusive Excellence
Email >


Liberal Arts Scholarship Catalyst Grants Program

300 College Park
Dayton, Ohio 45469