Skip to main content

Department of Electro-Optics and Photonics

At the University of Dayton, we are proud to be one of only a handful of academic programs in the world to offer M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Electro-Optics and Photonics (EOP). Lasers, cameras, fiber-optics, lidar, holograms, semiconductor chip fabrication and more all heavily rely on optics and photonics.

Our world-class laboratories and research directly aligns with government labs and commercial industries, allowing you to obtain real-world and highly marketable skills. Our students present their work at leading international conferences and participate in internships at our partner industries. We have close ties with high-tech industries, defense labs and academia. All of our graduates are highly sought after, with starting salaries over $100,000.

female student using laser machine

Photonics is all around us

  • Display technology: all modern computers, TV's and cell phones
  • Lidar: drones for aerial mapping and by self-driving cars
  • Optical spectroscopy: detection of hazardous chemicals and pathogens
  • Optical lithography: critical step in semiconductor chips manufacture
  • 3D imaging and holograms: technologies, such as Hololens and forensic sciences
  • Optical data storage: DVDs, Bluray, etc.
  • Optical coatings: mirrors, displays and even your cell phone screens
  • Photodetectors and imaging: nearly every camera and cell phones
  • Night vision cameras: surveillance, military and energy industries
  • Fiber optics: backbone of our broadband communication network
  • Laser machining: emerging technology quickly replacing traditional machining
  • Lasers: many areas from medical surgery and telecommunications to even spacecraft propulsion
  • Plus many more . . .

Engineering 11.27.23

This past summer, four UD graduate students, along with students from U.S. universities, traveled to Taiwan for a week to explore Taiwan's display technology industry, thanks to a joint NSF Advanced Studies Institute (ASI) grant between Penn State University and University of Dayton.

Read more
Engineering 10.25.23

A $390,000 National Science Foundation grant will enable the University of Dayton to purchase equipment to create semiconductor chips and devices in hours rather than weeks, and at a significantly lower cost.

Read more
Engineering 08.07.23

A University of Dayton researcher has secured $540,000 from the National Science Foundation (NSF) to aid his quest to find better ways to store and read the increasing amount of information in the world.

Read more
Engineering 08.07.23

Nine undergraduate students from universities across the U.S. spent their summer at the University of Dayton through the National Science Foundation’s Research Experiences for Undergraduate Students (REU) program.

Read more

Electro-Optics and Photonics, Dr. Andrew Sarangan, Department Chair

Fitz Hall
300 College Park
Dayton, Ohio 45469 - 2951