Skip to main content

Learning Communities and Dean's Fellows

Learning Communities

The University of Dayton School of Law is dedicated to providing all incoming law students with an education that is committed to leadership and service through placement in a Learning Community. Each Learning Community consists of approximately 8 to 10 students and is led by Dean’s Fellows, upper-level students selected for their academic achievement, commitment to the Law School community, and interest in education.

Dean’s Fellows work with the Law School’s Student Affairs department to assist students in developing the values of the UDSL community including the five Marianist pillars: Faith, Mary, Community, Mission, and Inclusivity.

During the year, the Learning Community program offers first-year students the opportunity to learn about the core values of the University of Dayton School of Law and the professional norms of the legal profession through featured guest speakers from throughout UDSL and the legal community.

The Learning Communities also encourage and promote students’ participation in various professionalism and career services activities and workshops to ensure that 1Ls are healthy and well-rounded law students that the Law School cultivates and honors.

Participation in a Learning Community during the first year of Law School is a graduation requirement for all students.

How can I become a Dean's Fellow? 

2023 Dean's Fellows

Learn more about the latest class of Dean's Fellows (profiles coming soon).


School of Law

Keller Hall
300 College Park
Dayton, Ohio 45469 - 2760