Skip to main content

Leland named to aerospace panel

Leland named to Ohio Aerospace and Aviation Technology Committee

John Leland, Interim Vice President for Research at the University of Dayton and Director of the University of Dayton Research Institute, has been appointed by Ohio Governor John Kasich to serve on the inaugural Ohio Aerospace and Aviation Technology Committee.

The 21-member committee, comprising legislators and member of the aerospace and aviation community – including military personnel, academic experts and industry leaders – will explore ways to boost the aerospace industry in Ohio via the development of focused policies.

The OAATC was created with the passage of House Bill 292, sponsored by State Rep. Rick Perales. Members will:

  • Study and develop comprehensive strategies to promote the aviation, aerospace, and technology industry throughout the state, including through the commercialization of aviation, aerospace, and technology products and ideas;
  • Encourage communication and resource-sharing among individuals and organizations involved in the aviation, aerospace, and technology industry, including business, the military, and academia;
  • Promote research and development in the aviation, aerospace, and technology industry, including research and development of unmanned aerial vehicles;
  • Provide assistance related to military base realignment and closure.

By law, the committee is required to comprise three legislators from the Senate, three legislators from the House, and 14 individuals appointed by the committee’s legislative members to offer expert recommendations. The committee will also include one member appointed by the Governor, who named Leland to fill that spot.

The legislative members serving on the committee are: Rep. Rick Perales (R-Beavercreek), Chair; Rep. Nan Baker (R-Westlake); Rep. Sean O’Brien (D-Bazetta); Sen. Chris Widener (R-Springfield); Sen. Bill Beagle (R-Tipp City); and Sen. Joe Schiavoni (D-Boardman). In addition to Leland, other public members are Terrance Slaybaugh, director of aviation for the city of Dayton; Roderick Munn; David Williams; Mark Brown, former NASA space shuttle astronaut; William Jabour; Paul Orkwis; Vincent Russo, former executive director and retired top civilian leader at Wright-Patterson Air Force Base; Robert Tanner; and Tony Bailey.

Dec. 28, 2014


News and Communication

Daniel J. Curran Place
300 College Park
Dayton, Ohio 45469 - 7759