Skip to main content

Our History

Our History

The University of Dayton is a Catholic and Marianist institution, which includes a fundamental commitment to gender equity:

"Marianist universities work to eliminate gender inequity both in their institutions and in the wider community. The university assures men and women equal educational and leadership opportunities, adequate representation and fair salaries."

This statement and others contained in Vision 2005: The Foundation, Characteristics of Marianist Universities, and the Statement on the Catholic and Marianist Identity of the University of Dayton, speak to the University’s commitment to gender equity and to building an inclusive community. Yet as documented throughout the 1990’s by the President’s Advisory Committee on Women’s Issues (ACWI) and the Women’s Center Working Group, this rhetorical commitment stood in contrast to the reality of gender equity at UD. The ACWI Status Report and Recommendations concluded that,

“As the principles of gender equity and equality characterize the University’s mission and life, so too must institutional character be defined by actions. Only actions validate the stated commitment.”

Based upon an analysis of model women’s centers and the nature of the UD community, the final Women’s Center Working Group report, issued in March 2001, identified key structure and resource requirements. The report recommended development of a UD center that would be: centrally located; adequately resourced in budget, staffing and space; organizationally positioned to receive ongoing support and attention from the administration and to send a strong positive message about that administration’s commitment to women’s equity and personal and professional development. These committee recommendations were adopted by the President’s Council, and the Women's Center was officially founded in January, 2003.

President's Advisory Committee on Women's Issues

The following individuals served on the President's Advisory Committee on Women's Issues at the behest of Bro. Raymond L. Fitz, S.M. It is largely as a result of their time, talent, and persistence that the UD Women's Center exists.

  • Shauna Adams 
  • Kathleen Berger
  • Deborah Bickett
  • Susan Brenner
  • Yolanda Copeland
  • Virginia Cotcamp
  • Carol Cummins-Collier
  • Susan Dempsey
  • Patricia Detzel
  • Jean Doe
  • Verda George
  • Elizabeth Gustafson
  • Carol Gutman
  • Cindy Hartmann
  • Kathleen Henderson
  • Aparna Higgins
  • Kristina Kerscher
  • Laura Leming, F.M.I.
  • M. Therese Lysaught
  • Amy Lopez Matthews
  • Mary McDowell
  • Kathleen Molner
  • Margaret Mount
  • Mary Neacy
  • Frances Pestello
  • Karen Pettus
  • Diane Platfoot
  • Terese Pultz
  • John Quinn
  • Toni Ramsey
  • Marcia Rausch
  • Carolyn Ridenour
  • Lisa Rismiller
  • Betty Rose
  • Beth Schwartz
  • Kathleen Watters
  • Dorene Wilbur
  • Rebecca Yates
  • Betty Youngkin
Alumni Hall
300 College Park
Dayton, Ohio 45469 - 0322