Skip to main content

Honorary Commander

UDRI director to serve as honorary commander for 88th Air Base Wing at WPAFB

John Leland, Director of the University of Dayton Research Institute and Associate Vice President for Research, UD, has been named an Honorary Commander for the 88th Air Base Wing at Wright-Patterson Air Force Base for 2014-2016.

According to information provided by the base, the Honorary Commanders program is designed to cultivate communication, understanding and an open exchange of ideas between WPAFB and its civilian neighbors in the Miami Valley. The program seeks the counsel of leaders representing business, education, government, and nonprofit organizations in order to build a strong community partnership.

Honorary commanders are paired and spend time with counterparts at the base to learn more about the role Wright-Patterson Air Force Base plays in supporting the Air Force mission and the nation’s defense; the exchange also allows base leaders to gain insight into the Miami Valley community.

Honorary Commanders will be inducted at a luncheon ceremony Tuesday, May 13 on base. Incoming Honorary Commanders for the 2014-2016 term are:

  • Lloyd Fields, Dayton Area Defense Contractors Association
  • David Hopkins, Wright State University
  • Chuck Jackson, NDIA Wright Brothers Chapter
  • John Leland, University of Dayton Research Institute
  • Michael Mayer, Miami Valley Military Affairs Association
  • Phil Plummer, Montgomery County Sheriff
  • Terrence Slaybaugh, Ohio Aviation Association
  • Lori Ward, Dayton Public Schools

April 30, 2014


News and Communication

Daniel J. Curran Place
300 College Park
Dayton, Ohio 45469 - 7759