Skip to main content

STEM Catalyst Initiative

Current Awardees

We are pleased to announce the recipients of the 2021-22 University of Dayton STEM Catalyst grants.

The four projects funded this year reflect diverse efforts in the interdisciplinary research focus areas of sustainability and health and biosciences outlined by University President Eric F. Spina. The recipients all had a specific and compelling vision for advancing research within their disciplines, meeting humanity’s needs as part of the University’s commitment to the common good, and transitioning their program to external sponsorship.

The 2021-22 STEM Catalyst grant recipients:

  • Loan Bui, Andrew Sarangan: A Three-dimensional Lab-on-a-Chip Platform with Integrated Sensors for Studying Breast Cancer Invasion
  • Madhuri Kango-Singh, Amit Singh: Hippo Signaling pathway in Alzheimer’s disease and related dementias
  • Russell Pirlo, Justin Biffinger: Electrospun Photoactivatable Metallopolymers for Spatio-Temporal Control of Dynamic 3D Tissue Scaffolds
  • Julie Walsh-Messinger: Health, Mental Health, and Recovery in COVID-19 ‘Long-Haulers’

We are excited about this opportunity to advance STEM research at the University.


STEM Catalyst Initiative

300 College Park
Dayton, Ohio 45469

2019 Awards

Number e-books, limb regrowth, extreme stretchable materials, and more.


2018 Awards

Crazy ants, prosthetic hands, food safety, and more.


2017 Awards

The SmartWalker, neurobiology of ADHD, virtual reality for behavior intervention, and more.