See UD's plans to return to teaching, learning and research on campus this fall with measures in place to promote safety and lessen the risk of COVID-19 spread.

Skip to main content

RCSG Eligibility

Faculty Eligibility

Faculty who have won previous RESEARCH COUNCIL SEED GRANTS must have submitted a Final Report for those grants in order to be considered for new awards. There is no guarantee that all proposers will receive awards.

There are two categories under which faculty members may be eligible: New Tenure Track Faculty and Senior Faculty.

Members of the Research Council are not eligible to apply for RCSG grants.

New Tenure Track Faculty 

The purpose of seed grants for New Tenure Track Faculty is to assist eligible faculty members in the initiation of research. New Tenure Track Faculty may apply for grants under this category in only each of their first four years at the University of Dayton. After four years with the university, faculty members are expected to have established a research agenda and be able to attract other sources of funding.

A new faculty member can apply for seed grants for NEW TENURE TRACK FACULTY any time during their first 4 years of service. To be eligible to receive an RCSG grant for two, three or four consecutive years, however, the proposer must demonstrate that; (a) the efforts of the previous year had indeed resulted in significant scholarly research and the proposed research was completed successfully, (b) there exists a continuing track record of publishing and seeking external sponsorship, and (c) the final report for previous year's Research Council Seed Grants was submitted by the required date outlining the accomplishments of the research.

Senior Faculty

The purpose of seed grants for senior investigators is to provide funding which supports initiatives in research and other scholarly activities by faculty members who are embarking upon distinctly new avenues of research, or who are returning to research from an administrative assignment. Faculty members completing five years of tenured service at UD are eligible under the Senior Faculty category.

A co-signed letter from the Department Chair and the Dean will be required to verify that the proposal represents a new and distinctly different avenue of research/scholarship for the faculty member, and is a definite departure from past research endeavors. Similarly, faculty returning from administrative assignments will also need this co-signed letter.

This letter must accompany the proposal. Failure to include the letter will result in disqualification.

Senior faculty members who receive an RCSG grant must submit a report describing the activities that were performed under the grant. Timely submission of this report is required for eligibility to apply for additional funding. Senior faculty members are eligible to apply only twice for this funding and the second funding request must be separated from the first by a minimum of 7 years.


Office for Research

Daniel J. Curran Place
1700 Patterson Blvd
Dayton, Ohio 45469 - 7758