Skip to main content

The Marianist Award for Intellectual Contributions

We honor great Catholic intellectuals with the prestigious Marianist Award.

The Marianist Award derives its name from the title given to members of the religious orders founded by Blessed Fr. William Joseph Chaminade and Venerable Mother Adéle de Batz de Trenquelleon.

Established in 1950, the Marianist Award was originally presented to scholars who had made outstanding contributions to Mariology in America. In 1967, the concept for the award was broadened to honor individuals who had made outstanding contributions to humanity.

The Marianist Award was revived in 1986 when the University of Dayton announced that it would again present the award annually, this time to honor a Roman Catholic whose work has made a major contribution to the intellectual life. The award includes and original piece of Marian-themed art and a stipend of $5,000.

Marianist Award Recipients

2024    Dr. Thomas Landy, Ph.D.

2023    Bro. Mickey McGrath, OSFS

2020    Cathleen Kaveny

2019    Bro. Guy Consolmagno

2017    Dr. Shawn Copeland

2014    Thérèse-Anne Druart

2012    Rev. Joseph Komonchak, Ph.D.

2011    Lamin Sanneh

2010    Ron Hansen

2009    Elizabeth A. Johnson, C.S.J.

2008    David Hollenbach, S.J.

2006    Cyprian Davis, O.S.B.

2005    David J. O’Brien

2004    Cardinal Avery Dulles

2003    Peter Steinfels

2003    Margaret O’Brien Steinfels

2002    Mary Douglas

2001    Mary Ann Glendon

2000    Marcia L. Colish

1999    Jill Ker Conway

1998    David W. Tracy

1997    Gustavo Gutierrez

1996    Charles Taylor

1995    J. Bryan Hehir

1994    Philip Gleason

1993    Monika K. Hellwig

1992    Louis Dupré

1991    John T. Noonan, Jr.

1990    Sidney Callahan

1989    Walter Ong, S.J.

1988    Timothy 0’Meara

1987    Rosemary Haughton

1986    John Tracy Ellis


Office for Mission and Rector

St. Mary's Hall
300 College Park
Dayton, Ohio 45469 - 1638
Office of the Rector