Skip to main content

Community Policing

Community Policing Operations

UDPD Patrol Division

University of Dayton Police Officers are on duty 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year.  They conduct 24 hour patrol using marked patrol vehicles, bicycles, a motorcycle, and foot patrol.

Police officers meet all State of Ohio certification requirements and are commissioned as set forth under section 1713.50 of the Ohio Revised Code.  All officers have obtained at least 560 hours of specialized training through the Ohio Peace Officer’s Training Academy as mandated by the Ohio Revised Code and participate in continuing education and qualification requirements.

Our officers strive to protect life and property, to understand and serve the needs of the community, to actively seek to identify community problems, and to improve the quality of life in the community. 

The Department of Public Safety maintains close working relationships with police departments in the City of Dayton, City of Oakwood, Montgomery County Sheriff’s Office, federal, state, and other law enforcement agencies, and the City of Dayton Fire Department.

Emergency Information

Call 911 from UD campus phones. Call 937-229-2121 from all other phones.

Non-campus phones and cell phones will reach the Montgomery County Regional Dispatch Center when dialing 911. Add 937-229-2121 to your cell phone for emergency calls to University of Dayton Public Safety.


Department of Public Safety 937-229-2131 (administrative offices)

Fitz Hall
300 College Park
Dayton, Ohio 45469 - 2914