Skip to main content

Assessment for Student Learning

Assessment for Student Learning at the University of Dayton


This site has been developed to provide resources for assessment of the seven University of Dayton Institutional Learning Goals (ILGs),* listed below.  Resources will continue to be developed, and we hope you will let us know what you need to help you succeed.

Institutional Learning Goals:
  • Scholarship
  • Faith Traditions
  • Diversity
  • Community
  • Practical Wisdom
  • Critical Evaluation of Our Times
  • Vocation

The University Assessment Committee (UAC) has worked hard to recommend approaches to the assessment of the Institutional Learning Goals based on best practices in higher education.  The recommended approach will be a university-wide assessment based upon a four-point scale from zero to three.  Student scores for the learning goals may be arrived upon by utilizing a rubric to assess student work at faculty discretion.

*Prior to the 2017-18 academic year, the seven areas were referred to as Student Learning Outcomes (SLOs), as stated originally in the Habits of Inquiry and Reflection (HIR).


Lee J. Dixon, Ph.D., Associate Provost for Academic Affairs & Learning Initiatives

300 College Park
Dayton, Ohio 45469 - 1302