Skip to main content


Photo of UD ROTC cadets

University ROTC Battalion wins top honors in the Midwest; finalist for national award

The University of Dayton Fighting Flyers was selected as the top Army ROTC program in the Midwest earning the 2022-23 MacArthur Award from the Gen. Douglas MacArthur Foundation.

The battalion and the University also are national finalists for the Department of Defense ROTC and Partnership Institution Excellence Award, a distinction that jointly recognizes both the educational institution for outstanding support and facilitation of a successful ROTC program, as well as the performance of the ROTC unit. This is the first time UD’s ROTC Battalion has been nominated for this award. 

“Leading the Fighting Flyer program has been one of the most professionally rewarding positions of my career,” said Lt. Col. Matthew Clementz, department chair and professor of military science. “This nomination shows what is different about the ROTC program at UD, the high caliber of cadets and the incredible support we receive from the University.”

The UD Battalion is a diverse group of 55 cadets (31% female, 22% underrepresented). Four of the last five battalion commanders have been women.

“The long line of female leaders that came before me challenged me to be more, do more and learn more,” said Kelsey Saylor, current cadet battalion commander. “They successfully fostered an environment in which women have the confidence and drive to lead those around them — and are afforded as many opportunities as they have the tenacity to chase.” 

In securing the MacArthur award, the Fighting Flyers outperformed 37 peer programs in areas of cadet summer training performance and quality of commissioning class.

Clementz acknowledged some of the accomplishments of program personnel, including six RECONDO recipients during cadet summer training, 12 cadets selected for Army schools and competitive internships and two instructors honored for exceptional service.

Learn more about the UD ROTC program here


News and Communications Staff