Skip to main content


State of Ohio awards University nearly $3 million for Choose Ohio First Scholarships for computer science students

The state of Ohio awarded the University of Dayton nearly $3 million for Choose Ohio First scholarships during the next five years for students in computer science and related fields, Ohio Lt. Gov. Jon Husted announced Dec. 12 at the University of Dayton School of Engineering Innovation Center. The program's goal is to help prepare Ohio's future workforce and grow Ohio's economy.

Students enrolling in or transferring to an undergraduate major or certificate program in a designated computer science, computer engineering or a related field at the University are eligible. UD students are eligible for the scholarships starting in August 2020.

The University will provide matching funds to support the program.

"We appreciate the state's confidence in the University of Dayton to contribute to the state's economic development through this program," Provost Paul Benson said. "We look forward to recruiting the best and brightest students to these fields to achieve our state's goals."

The University of Dayton Department of Computer Science is in the midst of an expansion to relocate the department to a new home that includes 58,000 square feet of customized classroom, laboratory and office spaces, plus an enclosed walkway connecting the facility to Kettering Labs. The new space is expected to be ready in January 2021.

For more information about the Choose Ohio First program for computer science and related fields at the University of Dayton, contact Catherine Mix, assistant vice president for strategic enrollment management and director of financial aid, at 937-229-4311. For more information on the state's Choose Ohio First program, visit

For interviews at the University of Dayton, contact Shawn Robinson, associate director of news and communications, at 937-229-3391 or For interviews with the State of Ohio, contact Jeff Robinson, director of communications with the Ohio Department of Higher Education, at 614-752-9487 or


News and Communications Staff