Skip to main content


Emerson Helix Scholarship Winners Named

Five University of Dayton students received Emerson Helix Innovation Scholarships sponsored by The Helix Innovation Center on the University of Dayton campus. They will work with Emerson engineers and industry leaders to develop innovations in the heating, ventilation, air conditioning and refrigeration industry.

Each student will receive $10,000 to support their work and be assigned a mentor at The Helix. The students are:

  • Dejuan A. Marion, a computer engineering major from Bedford, Ohio
  • Christian Cubacub, a computer engineering major from Honolulu, Hawaii
  • Vivian M. Mota, a mechanical engineering from Melrose Park, Illinois
  • Lauren J. Declark, a psychology major from Toledo, Ohio
  • Anthony Zinkhon, a marketing major from Medway, Ohio 

"These students will become part of our collaboration community. Working closely with the University of Dayton is an important part of our mission at The Helix, and we are excited to get the perspective of students from majors outside our traditional engineering path," said Rajan Rajendran, vice president of system innovation and sustainability for Emerson’s Commercial & Residential Solutions business.

The University of Dayton Institute of Applied Creativity for Transformation at ArtStreet also is a partner in the Emerson Innovation Scholarship program.

The 40,000 square-foot Helix Innovation Center contains six simulated environments that will provide University of Dayton students a real-world research playground — a fully-functioning and furnished home, a model supermarket, a light commercial environment, a commercial kitchen, a data center and an industrial chiller.


News and Communications Staff