See UD's plans to return to teaching, learning and research on campus this fall with measures in place to promote safety and lessen the risk of COVID-19 spread.

Skip to main content


A Transformational Leader

The Dayton Development Coalition will present University of Dayton President Daniel J. Curran the Maureen Patterson Regional Leader Award at its annual meeting Jan. 26.

The annual award is named for Maureen Patterson, who dedicated her career to the region's economic growth, and honors an extraordinary leader who advocates for the community's economic health and growth. This is the first time the award has been given a second time to a community leader.

According to the Dayton Development Coalition, Curran has transformed one of Dayton's most beloved institutions, and the effects of his work can be felt through the entire community. His passion for education and commitment to driving economic growth in the Dayton region reach far beyond the University of Dayton campus. 

"Dr. Curran had created an unforgettable legacy in this community. He not only found new and innovative ways to connect the University of Dayton to the business and scientific community, but he has been an integral leader at key moments in our region's history. He worked as a tireless advocate during the 2005 BRAC process, and he reached out to global companies, such as Midmark Corp., GE Aviation, and Emerson Climate Technologies, to establish world-class innovation centers on the UD campus," Coalition President and CEO Jeff Hoagland said. "When Fuyao evaluated our region for a historic investment, his deep understanding of our business community and international issues helped inform our approach to the negotiations and he continues to cultivate our relationship with the company. We would like to thank him for his passion, commitment, and leadership." 

Past honorees include: 

  • 2005 – Gen. (Ret.) John M. Nowak
  • 2006 – Daniel J. Curran
  • 2007 – Beverly Shillito
  • 2008 – Dennis Rediker
  • 2009 – Peter A. Luongo
  • 2010 – Benjamin Schuster
  • 2011 – Mark Thompson
  • 2012 – Gen. (Ret.) Lester L. Lyles
  • 2013 – Derek Porter
  • 2014 – Pam Morris 

The coalition's annual meeting is open to the public. Pre-registration is now closed, but attendees can register onsite. The doors will open for networking at 3 p.m., and the formal program will begin at 4 p.m. in the Wintergarden of the Benjamin and Marian Schuster Performing Arts Center.


News and Communications Staff