Skip to main content

The Five Main Stages of the R.C.I.A.

The Five Main Stages of the R.C.I.A.

The Period of Inquiry

The Period of Inquiry has as its purpose a time:

  • To become acquainted with the Catholic Church and
  • To hear the good news of salvation from Jesus Christ our Savior;
  • It is a time to look within at one's one life story and see connections to or needs for the gospel story of good news.
  • During this period, the gospel of Jesus is proclaimed, and inquirers look within their own story to make and mark connections.
  • This reflective process becomes a continuing, on-going method used by inquirer and member alike.
  • This period lasts as long as the person needs it to last, from a few months to several years, if necessary.
  • The Inquirer writes a formal letter, when ready, stating that s/he is ready to move to the Catechumenate phase, stating why they want to move and how they see himself or herself as ready.
  • During this period, some may decide that this is not the right time for them to consider membership in the Catholic Church, either because of their own life circumstances or because they feel some other Tradition is better for them.

The Period of the Catechumenate

The Period of the Catechumenate embodies the first stages of commitment leading to full membership:

  • For a person to enter this phase, s/he must already have come to faith in Jesus Christ as their Lord and Savior and sincerely desire to become members of the Catholic Church.
  • During this phase, the catechumens now gather with the Catholic community on Sundays for the first part of the mass, during which, together, we hear the Scriptures, respond to them, and reflect on the meaning of God's Word for us personally and as community through the homily. After the homily, catechumens are dismissed , and with their Catechist, continue a process of reflection and application of the Scriptures to their own lives.
  • During this period, the initial conversion is deepened and appropriated; the person comes to know more and more deeply the love of God in their own lives and in the midst of the church community. This period, too, lasts as long as the person needs it to last, from a few months to several years, if necessary.
  • For the unbaptized, this phase must normally last 12 months.

The Period of Purification or Illumination

The Period of Purification corresponds to the time known in the Catholic Church as Lent, the six-weeks of preparation for Easter:

  • This period becomes a prayerful time for catechumens and candidates, who are now known as the Elect, as they prepare for the moment of welcome as full members and are established as such by the Sacraments of Initiation.
  • This period is begun by the Rite of election, usually celebrated at the Cathedral Church with the Diocesan Bishop; by this rite they are accepted as candidates for the Sacraments by the Bishop, representing the fact that this decision is not theirs alone. Normally this rite takes place on the first Sunday of Lent.
  • Throughout Lent, special prayers are offered at the Sunday Eucharist for the catechumens and candidates; they are called scrutinies; these prayers for strengthening in grace and virtue and for purification from all past evil and from any bonds which hinder them from experiencing the love of God. Throughout this period, the Elect are invited to join with the whole Church in a deeper practice of works of charity and in the practice of fasting.
  • During this period, the common reflection on the Scriptures continues; the readings of Lent were chosen with the themes of continuing conversion in mind. Toward the end of the period, the Church continues the custom of "handing over" to the Elect the Creed (the summary of our faith) and the Lord's Prayer (which represents its practice of continuing prayer after the command of Jesus who taught us to pray).

Celebrating the Sacraments of Initiation

The Sacraments of Initiation are celebrated at the Easter Vigil, an extended night-watch of prayer, singing and hearing the Word of God:

  • By the waters of baptism, a person passes into the new life of grace and becomes a member of the Body of Christ.
  • Anointing with special holy oil called chrism seals the initiation by the power of the Holy Spirit and participation at the Table of the Lord in the eucharist marks full membership in the church.
  • Even though students are on Easter-break, those to be initiated and their Sponsors stay to take part in the Holy Sacraments of Initiation.

Period of Mystagogy

The Period of Mystagogy lasts from Easter Sunday until the completion of the Easter season, fifty days later on Pentecost Sunday and completes the initiation process:

  • Those who have just shared in the sacraments of initiation are now called Neophytes and during this period of Easter joy they reflect on what they have just gone through and look to the future as to how they can now share in the mission of Christ who came to bring salvation and life to the whole world. This period of time reminds the whole church that life in Christ constantly calls us to grow and to look for new ways to live the life of grace, personally and together.

Campus Ministry

Liberty Hall
300 College Park
Dayton, Ohio 45469 - 0408