Skip to main content

Miryam Award

About the Miryam Award

The Miryam Award was initiated by Campus Ministry's Center for Social Concern in 1996 as a way to recognize the efforts of people on our campus to change the atmosphere and the potential for women's achievements here at the University of Dayton. Significant changes and support for women have been made through the courage, the determination, and the persistence of individual women and men as well as organizations in the campus community.

Each year, the Miryam Award is given to an individual (student, faculty, or staff) or a group (student organizations, committees, programs, etc.) on the UD campus whose actions:

1. Enhance the climate for and support the advancement of women on the UD campus;

2. Go beyond one’s normal UD duties in advancing the campus community for women; and

3. Reflect the mission of the University.

Faculty, staff, or students may nominate for this award.

Faith/Mission 03.03.22

The Center for Social Concern is pleased to congratulate Cheryl Sims, Assistant Director, Prospect Research in Advancement, as the 2022 Miryam Award recipient.

Read more

Selection Process

Nominations for 2023 are due on February 10.

The Miryam Award Selection Committee will meet and review all submitted nominations in late February. The committee will consider each nominee based upon responses to the three criteria areas identified on the nomination form. Therefore, it is important that nominators submit clear and concise information regarding their nominees. The Selection Committee will identify the Miryam Award recipient(s) in early March.

Miryam Award Selection Committee

Includes representatives from the following UD entities:

  • Advancement
  • Center for Social Concern/ Campus Ministry
  • Center for Student Involvement
  • Educational Administration
  • Human Resources
  • Office for Mission and Rector
  • Office of Diversity and Inclusion
  • School of Education and Health Sciences
  • Women’s Center

Award Prayer Service and Reception

To honor the award winner/s, each year there will be a prayer service and reception on or around March 25, the Feast of the Annunciation. The prayer service is planned and organized to reflect the values, hopes, and dreams of the winner/s and to reflect the spirit of the Feast Day. After the prayer service, the winner/s will be officially recognized.

We will celebrate the winner for 2023 on Monday, March 27th at 3:00pm in Torch Lounge in Kennedy Union. Please RSVP to if you would like to attend. Please contact Mary Niebler for more information.

Recipients of the Miryam Award

2022: Cheryl Sims, Assistant Director, Prospect Research in Advancement
2021: Laura Bistrek, the Executive Director of the Diversity in Engineering Center
2020: Dr Megan Reissman and the Dayton Athletics Women Leaders
2019: PAVE (Peers Advocating for Violence Education)
2018: Beth Herdmann and F3USE 
2017:  Katie Brossart, Colleen McDaniel, and Christine Schramm
2016:  Irene Dickey and Molly Armstrong Schaller
2015: Malcolm Daniels and the Society of Women Engineers
2014: Shauna Adams and Shane White
2013: Debra Monk and Corinne Witherspoon
2012: Elizabeth Reeves , Alisa Bartel and Alex Kreidenweis
2011: Dr. Judith Martin, Claire Hampel, and Annie Buscemi
2010: Grace Crivello and Dr. Betty Youngkin
2009: Dr. Sheila Hassel Hughes and Caitlin Cronin
2008: Advocating for Women’s Equality
2007: Sr. Mary Louise Foley, FMI
2006: Amy Lopez-Matthews
2005: Ashley Neu and the Annie T Thornton Women’s Leadership Conference
2004: Kathy Watters and Katie King
2003: Pat Johnson
2002: POP and Original Steering Committee
2001: SAFE (Students Advocating Female Equality)
2000: Barbara Farrelly
1999: Women’s Studies Program
1998: Bro. Raymand Fitz, SM
1997: Mary Neacy
1996: Title IX Committee


Campus Ministry's Center for Social Concern

Liberty Hall
300 College Park Ave.
Dayton, Ohio 45469 - 0408
CSC Website