Skip to main content

University Award for Faculty Service

About University Award for Faculty Service

The annual University Award for Faculty Service is supported by funds provided by the Office of the Provost  in order to honor excellence in service. The Faculty Awards Committee selects the ranked faculty member who has distinguished himself or herself in service while at the University of Dayton. Two or more faculty members may be nominated as a team or may submit a joint application if they have produced collaborative work. In addition, the Committee may select co-recipients.

The recipient of the Award receives $3,000, funded by the Office of the Provost. If two or more faculty members win as a team, or if co-recipients are selected, all will share equally in the Award and the $3,000 will be divided between them. In addition, the individual or team selected receives University recognition and may be invited to make a public presentation at appropriate University ceremonies and forums, conduct a seminar, and so forth.

The nomination process is easy; send your recommendations to Faculty Awards at, and the awards committee will contact nominees to notify them they have been nominated, and encourage them to apply. Nominations may typically come from people who are most familiar with faculty work, such as department chairs and/or colleagues.

The application process is also straightforward, and the application materials, in pdf form, are due to the nominee’s dean’s office by January 22, 2021.  

Self-nominations are also acceptable.  Application materials for a self-nomination, in pdf form, are due to your dean’s office by January 22, 2021.

Application Procedure

If nominees decide to apply, all applications must be submitted, in pdf form, to their dean’s office, not directly to the Faculty Awards Committee, by January 22, 2021.  Please note that this is a change to past procedure. Click here for the Service Award application

There is no limit on the number of applications an academic unit can submit to the Faculty Awards Committee. Applicants can, if they wish, remain under consideration for three consecutive years and will be invited (though not required) to update their materials should they choose to be re-considered for the awards.Once a person receives the Award, she or he is not eligible to apply again for the same award in subsequent years.

Deans or their designees should email a single copy of the application for each applicant, in pdf form, to no later than 5:00 p.m., Friday, February 5, 2021. Please note that this process has been changed to make it more efficient and sustainable.  Applications  and supporting materials should come only from deans’ offices, and materials received after the deadline cannot be accepted.  Any questions may be directed to committee chair Miriamne Krummel  (

Composition of Selection Committee

This year the Faculty Awards Committee, appointed by the Provost, consists of Chair Miriamne Krummel (English), Blake Watson (School of Law), Roger Crum (Art and Design), Heidi Gauder (University Libraries),  Dave Myszka (Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering), Pam Young (Educational Administration), Chun Zhang (Management & Marketing), Susan Brown (LTC, ex officio), and student members Bridget Graham (Human Rights Studies and Political Science) and Seth Jones (Sport Management).


Faculty Development