Skip to main content

Enhancing Student Culture

Enhancing Student Culture for Academic Engagement and Excellence

Note: This information is for archival purposes only. For a list of current grant opportunities, please visit our Grants and Awards page.


In the fall of 2004 and again in 2006, the Provost set aside $100,000 to stimulate changes leading to an enhanced UD student culture for academic engagement and excellence.  The Provost tasked the Faculty Development Committee (FDC) with developing guidelines and a selection process for distributing the funds in the form of grants.  The grants are designed to help foster innovations that support the implementation of “A Vision of Excellence.”  These grants will be competitively awarded up to $20,000, although we anticipate most projects to request less. Note that projects funded for 2004-5 can compete again, but must address the questions highlighted in the section of this RFP labeled “2004-5 Project Extensions.”

Members of the Faculty Development Committee (2006-2007)

Janet Bednarek, History
Ralph Frasca, Economics & Finance
Mike Geary, Accounting
Sawyer Hunley, Counselor Education & Human Services / LTC Fellow
Art Jipson, Sociology, Anthropology, and Social Work
Janet Herrelko, Teacher Education
Chuck Edmonson, Engineering Technology
Don Pair, Geology
Molly Schaller, Counselor Education &Human Services
Andrea Seielstad, School of Law
Drew Murray (Sabbat, 2006-7), Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Kerrie Cross, Roesch Library
Steve Wilhoit, English / LTC Fellow
David Wright, Director of Curriculum, Innovation & E-Learning
Deb Bickford, Associate Provost for Academic Affairs & Learning Initiatives
Lora Bailey, Faculty Development Coordinator

Faculty Development