Skip to main content

Ruhlman Award

The Brother Frank Ruhlman, S.M., Award of Excellence for Literary Achievement provides a $600 scholarship to a UD undergraduate who demonstrates excellence in writing that has been published in University publications (electronic or print) over the previous 12 months. Established in 1975, the award memorializes Brother Francis Ruhlman, S.M., who directed the University Libraries from 1920 through the 1950s. 

Materials Considered

Only materials appearing in University publications (electronic or print) over the previous 12 months are eligible. Only undergraduates are eligible. Applications are evaluated based on clarity, creativity, and range. For this reason, it is strongly encouraged to submit multiple eligible pieces. 

Submission Guidelines

To be considered for the award, authors need to provide the following:

  • Complete the submission form with author and publication information.
  • Upload or include links to up to 5 eligible pieces in the above form.

Alternatively, you may email this cover sheet along with your submissions as attachments to the Ruhlman Award committee chair Jason Wardell at Please include the phrase “Ruhlman Award” in the subject line. Any questions about the award can be emailed to Jason. 

The award application window is typically early January to mid-February. The 2023 deadline has passed.


Roesch Library