Skip to main content

School of Law | February 2010 Dayton Docket

February 2010 Dayton Docket

Symposium on Significant New Business Risks under Copyright Law

UDSL's Intellectual Property Law Society and the Program in Law and Technology will explore forthcoming changes to U.S. copyright laws during a special program on Thursday, March 11, in Keller Hall. More »

Scholarships Provide Extra Motivation for Talented Students

Last month, UDSL students had an opportunity to meet and thank benefactors who make endowed scholarships possible at the School's annual Scholarship Luncheon. Financial aid is an important factor in attracting talented students to campus, and endowed scholarships open doors for students who otherwise might not have the opportunity to study the law. More »

UDSL Active at AALS Conference

UDSL was well represented at the American Association of Law Schools annual conference held January 6-10 in New Orleans. Dean Lisa Kloppenberg attended a portion of the conference and was included in a dinner where about six deans interacted with the new American Bar Association president, Carolyn Lamm, a partner at White & Case. Dean of Students Lori Shaw spoke to approximately 500 people about assessment in legal education.

A number of UDSL faculty members also attended. Assistant Professor Thaddeus Hoffmeister was selected as one of four newer scholars nationally to present a scholarly paper. His paper is titled An Insurrection Act for the 21st Century. Professor Andrea Seielstad contributed as a section leader for Clinical Education in New Orleans. Associate Professor Jeannette Cox is also serving as a section officer for the New Law Professors Section.

Students Raising Funds for Haiti

UDSL students are coordinating efforts to raise funds for the victims of last month's earthquake in Haiti. Fundraising plans call for the creation of a Pay Pal account through which students, faculty, staff and alumni can make donations. The account is expected to be set up some time in February. For more details, contact the Dean of Students office at 937-229-3794. 

Alumni Briefs

Updates from Brian C. Thomas '01, D. Jeffrey Ireland '80, Jeffrey T. Cox '91, Ronald I. Raether Jr. '96, Daniel Brabender '78, Kate Hudson '08, Shanda L. Spurlock '02, Michael Navarre '98, Mark Hilliard '06, Cinamon S. Houston '97 and Vaseem S. Hadi '02, Christopher Epley '99. More »

Faculty Briefs

News from Dean Lisa Kloppenberg and Professors Susan Brenner, Jim Durham and Dennis Greene. More »


School of Law

Keller Hall
300 College Park
Dayton, Ohio 45469 - 2760