Skip to main content

School of Law | Dayton Law Honors Alumni and Friends over Alumni Weekend

Dayton Law Honors Alumni and Friends over Alumni Weekend

The Dayton Law Alumni Association honored four members of the School of Law community with special awards during this year's Alumni Weekend, May 13 and 14.

This year's Distinguished Alumnus was Terry Miller '77, the general counsel of the London 2012 Organizing Committee for the Olympic Games and Paralympics Games.

The Honorary Alumnus was Helenka Marculewicz, the executive director of the Greater Dayton Volunteer Lawyers Project.

Thomas Hurney, Jr., '83 received the Francis J. Conte Special Service Award.

Jeff Rezabek '97 received the Steven E. Yuhas Alumni Special Service Award.

Distinguished Alumni Award: Terry Miller

Terry Miller, Class of 1977, is the general counsel of the London 2012 Organizing Committee for the Olympic Games and Paralympics Games. She heads a legal team responsible for providing advice on all aspects of the Olympics' operations, including how to meet the terms of the Host City Contract with the International Olympic Committee, implementation of sponsorship and supply contracts and protection of the London 2012 brand.

Before joining the London Olympics in 2006, Terry spent 17 years at Goldman Sachs, where she was a partner and served as international general counsel of Goldman Sachs International. Before that she was a partner in the law firm of Kirkpatrick and Lockhart. She began her career with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, where she was a branch chief in the enforcement division.

In 2006, Terry was selected as Legal Week's General Counsel of the Year.

Professor Emeritus Dennis Turner accepted the Distinguished Alumni Award on Miller's behalf. You can read more about Miller in the Winter 2010 issue of the Dayton Lawyer.

The Distinguished Alumni Award is presented each year to a Dayton Law graduate who reflects the school's values of professional integrity and community service through achievements of exceptional merit, honor and influence.

Walter H. Rice Honorary Alumni Award: Helenka Marculewicz

Helenka Marculewicz has served as executive director of the Greater Dayton Volunteer Lawyers Project since it was founded in 1988. The Volunteer Lawyers Project provides service to more than 1,600 cases a year, thanks to the work of a staff of three and more than 900 volunteering attorneys. Marculewicz considers what she does as volunteer administration.

She received a B.S. in sociology and education from Boston University in 1967.

In his remarks, Judge Rice said that Marculewicz has "set the gold standard for mobilizing" attorneys to provide access to justice for those who otherwise would not have legal representation. Marculewicz and the Volunteer Lawyers Project, Rice said, remind lawyers and judges "why we went to law school in the first place."

Marculewicz gave credit to the attorneys and judges who work with the Volunteer Lawyers Project. "I'm amazed at how many of you are willing to help provide access to justice" for so many people, she said. "I thank all of you for what you do."

The Honorable Walter H. Rice Honorary Alumni Award is presented each year to an individual who is not a graduate of Dayton Law, but who represents the ideals of the School through exemplary achievement. This award recognizes significant contributions to the legal profession, the community and the School of Law.

Francis J. Conte Special Service Award: Thomas Hurney, Jr.

Thomas Hurney Jr., Class of 1983, has long-standing ties to both the University of Dayton and the School of Law. He received a bachelor's in business administration from UD in 1980. Three years later he graduated cum laude from the University of Dayton School of Law. As a law student, he was the comments editor of the Law Review.

Since graduating, Hurney has remained active with the School of Law and regularly interviews students on behalf of his law firm, Jackson Kelly in Charleston, West Virginia. Tom manages Jackson Kelly's litigation practice group.

Currently, the firm employs 13 Dayton Law graduates, including seven associates, the largest single contingent of Dayton Law attorneys employed by any private employer outside of Ohio. Over the years, Jackson Kelly has hired dozens of other Dayton Law graduates who have moved on to other opportunities where they have flourished, thanks in large part to the tutelage provided by Hurney and his colleagues.

Hurney said he was humbled to receive the Conte Special Service Award. "I can't tell you much it meant to go to this law school," he told his fellow alumni. "This award has a lot more to do with our firm than it does with me," he said.

The Francis J. Conte Special Service Award recognizes an individual's extraordinary community service, as reflected in the School's Catholic and Marianist values, and support for the School of Law through donations of time, talent or financial assistance. This award is not reserved for alumni, but may be given to anyone who supports the School of Law.

Steven E. Yuhas Alumni Special Service Award: Jeff Rezabek

Jeff Rezabek, Class of 1997, has operated his Dayton law practice since 2003. He also serves as a substitute magistrate with the Dayton Municipal Court. Rezabek has been a Guardian Ad Litem since 1998 and has assisted the CASA Program and the Dayton Bar Association in the training of GALs since 2000. He started his legal career at the firm of Charles Smiley and Associates in 1998, and was recognized as partner two years later.

He was named the GAL of the Year in 2003 by Montgomery County Juvenile Court's CASA Program, and Attorney of the Year in both 2003 and 2009 by the Appointed Council Program of the Montgomery County Common Pleas Court.

An active and valued member of the School of Law's Alumni Association, Rezabek has served on the association's Board of Trustees since 1998 and plays an instrumental role in organizing the School's annual Honorable Carl D. Kessler Scholarship Golf Tournament. He received the Alumni Association's President Award in 2005.

Rezabek also received his undergraduate degree, in psychology and history, from UD in 1991.

Judge Mary Kate Huffman, president of the Alumni Association, presented the Yuhas Special Service Award to Rezabek, praising his dedication to service, "whatever the need or occasion."

"We can always count of Jeff," Huffman said. "He is always there for his community, for the law school and for the students."

Rezabek said that he was exposed to University's mantra to "Learn, Lead and Serve" throughout his time as a student at Dayton, first from Bro. Raymond Fitz, who was president of the university when Rezabek was an undergrad, then from Fran Conte, who was dean while Rezabek was a law student. Today, the current dean, Lisa Kloppenberg, has taken that philosophy, Rezabek said, "and run with it."

Rezabek also noted that the students in the Class of 2011, who graduated earlier in May, had contributed more than 12,000 hours of community service during their time in law school. UDSL students, he said, are "challenging us to do more" and to serve our communities more.

The Steven E. Yuhas Alumni Special Service Award, which was created in 2010, recognizes a Dayton Law graduate's extraordinary service and contributions to the Alumni Association, the School of Law, its students as well as the community. The award recognizes individuals who have been deeply involved in the work of the Alumni Association and the School of Law through exceptional contributions of time, talent and financial assistance.


School of Law

Keller Hall
300 College Park
Dayton, Ohio 45469 - 2760