Skip to main content

School of Law | Record Number Play in Kessler Golf Tournament

Record Number Play in Kessler Golf Tournament

Alumni, friends, students and faculty gathered on the golf course and on softball diamonds to play in the 21st annual Honorable Carl D. Kessler Scholarship Golf Tournament and the 32nd annual Dean's Classic Softball Tournament September 24-25.

This year's Kessler Tournament included 108 golfers, the largest number of participants in the tournament's history. The tournament raised $15,000 for the School's Honorable Carl D. Kessler Scholarship Fund.

Tim Stonecash, assistant dean for external relations, credited the work of the Kessler Tournament Committee for the tremendous turnout. The committee includes Adam Armstrong, Jeff Rezabek, Harry Beyoglides, Lee Falke, Art Hollencamp, Gary Hruska, Judge Mary Kate Huffman, Mike Ledbetter, Gary Schaengold, Steve Wagenfeld, Steve Yuhas and Curt Slaton, the tournament director.

The Kessler Golf Tournament was won by the team of Dave Lewis '85, Curt Slaton '86, Randy Stump '84 and Steve Wagenfeld '89. They were presented the Joseph E. Connelly Cup.

Kelly Henrici '94 and executive director of the School's Program in Law & Technology, won closest to the pin. 2L Kim Cullman was honored for the longest drive among the women golfers, and 2L Matt Erkkinen won for the longest drive for the men. Golfers had to battle blustery conditions during the scramble-style tournament at the Golf Club at Yankee Trace.

Seven teams participated on the Dean's Classic Softball Tournament at Action Sports Center in Dayton.

For the fourth consecutive year, the LexisNexis alumni team won the softball tournament. They beat the student team The Abacinators in the championship game. The LexisNexis team includes: Kevin Taylor '99, Kevin Hunt '00, Craig Goddy'99, Eric Thompson '99, Laura Thompson, PJ Conboy '98, Lee Hilty '99, Dan Rihm, Jessica Moore and Mark Brown.


School of Law

Keller Hall
300 College Park
Dayton, Ohio 45469 - 2760