Skip to main content

School of Law Alumni Association Scholarship Golf Outing

School of Law Alumni Association Scholarship Golf Outing

Thanks to everyone who took part in this year's outing! We hope to see you next year in May at NCR Country Club again for the 2024 Law Alumni Scholarship Golf Outing.

The 2023 University of Dayton School of Law Alumni Association Scholarship Golf Outing benefiting the Hon. Carl D. Kessler Scholarship and the Lee C. Falke Scholarship is scheduled for Monday, May 22 at 1 p.m. at NCR Country Club on the North Course.

This year will again feature a scramble tournament format with a 19th hole “closest-to-the-pin” shootout.

We encourage you to consider sponsoring a hole to highlight your company or firm. Sponsorship levels start at $300.


Registration is closed

If you have questions, please email

Entry Costs

  • $235 - Golf and Dinner
  • $150 - Student Rate for Golf and Dinner

Need a Place to Stay?

For those who are coming to the tournament from outside the Dayton area, a block of rooms has been made available for you to reserve at the Marriott at the University of Dayton.

Registration is closed

Sponsors Welcome

We encourage you to consider sponsoring a hole at the tournament for your company or firm.

Sponsorship Registration

Below are the sponsorship levels:

  • Tee Sponsor - $300
    • Signage at one tee box
  • Flag Sponsor - $500
    • Customized take-away flag on one hole
  • Dinner Sponsor - $1,000
    • Two tournament players
    • Company name and logo on marketing materials
  • Drink Sponsor - $1,500
    • One tournament foursome
    • Signage on drink carts
    • Company name and logo on marketing materials
  • Prize Sponsor - $2,000
    • One tournament foursome
    • Promotional table
    • Signage on the green
    • Company name and logo on marketing materials
  • Platinum Sponsor - $3,500
    • Two tournament foursomes
    • Promotional table
    • Signage on the green
    • Company name and logo on marketing materials

Tournament History

This golf tournament was established through the efforts of the late Honorable George J. Gounaris, who was fueled by his love of golf and his appreciation for his friend the Honorable Carl D. Kessler.

Judge Kessler’s life and career were marked by action, achievement, involvement and commitment to his community and his profession. During World War II, he enlisted in the Army-Air Corps and engaged in campaigns in North Africa, Sicily, Corsica and Italy. He was discharged in 1945 as a master sergeant. Carl received his bachelor’s degree and Juris Doctorate from The Ohio State University, and then entered the private practice of law. In 1957, he was elected judge of the Dayton Municipal Court. He held that position until 1960, when he was elected to the Montgomery County Common Pleas Court. Under Judge Kessler’s guidance as the presiding judge and administrative judge, the court was consistently recognized as one of the outstanding courts in America.

In addition to his many contributions to the judicial system, he made substantial contributions to the community, including with Children’s Medical Center, the Boy Scouts of America, the Salvation Army and the Social Health Association.

Starting in 2016 the tournament committee decided to also support the Lee C. Falke Scholarship. Lee attended the University of Dayton from 1948 to 1951. He received his bachelor's degree and his J.D. from The Ohio State University. Lee was Montgomery County Prosecutor from 1965 until 1992. He has also served as president of the National District Attorneys Association, the Ohio Prosecuting Attorneys Association and the Fairgrounds Neighborhood Association. He was named Outstanding Prosecutor of Ohio in 1971.

Lee was a charter member of the Alter Boosters Club, the Police Chief’s Association Montgomery County, Miami Valley Crime Stoppers and the Vietnam Veterans Memorial of the Greater Dayton Area.

Tournament Committee

Matt Erkkinen '12, Co-Chair
Jack Hilgeman '10, Co-Chair
Julia Kolber '04, Co-Chair
Jeff Rezabek '91, '97, Co-Chair
Deborah Adler '78, '81
Adam Armstrong '05
Lee Falke '52
Gary Hruska '80
Hon. Mary Kate Huffman '90
Kevin Leahy '85
Becky McClennen '11
Brandon McClain '11
Steve Wagenfeld '89


Greg Jones, Joshua Jones, Keith Cunningham, Quinn Cole


Michael Miller '05, Michael Brush, Joseph Walker '78, Bryce Haney (not pictured)


Dom Zambelli '19, Joe Mezher '18, Lou Zambelli '18 and Matt Notaro '18


Dom Zambelli '19, Joe Mezher '18, Lou Zambelli '18 and Matt Notaro '18


Steve Wagenfeld '89, Jon Marshall '05, Matt Erkkinen '12 and Sean Douple


Bill Rush, Chuck Gochenouer, Mike Miller '05 and Joe Walker '78


Ryan Voelker '09, Pete Voelker, Rodney Stieger '09 and Tom Hurney '83.


Ronnie Stump, Randy Stump '84, Steve Wagenfeld '89 and Curt Slaton '86


Judge Steven Dankoff, Jay Adams '99, Magistrate Michael Howley '96 and Ryan Reichley (not pictured)


Jason Griffin, Mark Phillips, Brennan Phillips '15 and Drew Sauter '15


School of Law

Keller Hall
300 College Park
Dayton, Ohio 45469 - 2760