Skip to main content

Dogmas, Marian

Dogmas, Marian

Q: What are the Marian dogmas?

A: There are four Marian dogmas:

1) Divine Motherhood - Council of Ephesus 431

2) Mary's Virginity

a. Virginal Conception through the Spirit - Baptismal symbols since third century.

b. Perpetual Virginity (virginal birth and no other children) - Baptismal symbols since fourth century (first in eastern church)

3) Immaculate Conception (Mary's freedom from original sin) - Pius IX, 1854

4) Mary's Assumption (body and soul) into heaven - Pius XII, 1950

All About Mary includes a variety of content, much of which reflects the expertise, interpretations and opinions of the individual authors and not necessarily of the Marian Library or the University of Dayton. Please share feedback or suggestions with


Marian Library

Roesch Library
300 College Park
Dayton, Ohio 45469 - 1390

Study Mary

Study the theology and history of Mary at the University of Dayton.

Learn More

Keyword Search

Would you like to begin a new keyword search?

Get Started