Skip to main content

Presidential Staff Achievement Award

Great Work Should be Recognized

Each year, the University recognizes the outstanding contribution of individual staff members through the Presidential Staff Achievement Award. This award may be given in recognition of an extraordinary recent effort  or for sustained excellence in performance. 

Last Year's Winners
Shawnee Breitenstein
Director of Engineering Engagement, School of Engineering
View Shawnee's Citation
Alan Lammers
Lead Plumber & Boiler Operator, Facilities Management
View Alan's Citation

Eligibility and Nomination Process



Any current staff members (whether exempt or nonexempt) may be nominated as long as they have been at the University for at least one year at the time of nomination. Nominees must also be in "good standing" within their departments.  Prior winners may not be nominated more than once every five (5) years.


Nomination Process

Using guidance from the Critical Leadership Competencies of a Catholic and Marianist University, the nominator will complete and submit the nomination Google Form.  Information about the competencies can also be found within the form itself.  Nominations must come from members of the UD community.

A nomination should demonstrate:


  1. How the nominee's actions go above and beyond the expectations of one's job responsibilities, and
  2. The nominee's marked, positive impact on the campus community.

While letters of support are not required for the nomination process, the committee welcomes multiple nominations of the same candidate.

Questions regarding the nomination process should be directed to Lee Jackson at or 229-4895.

Selection Criteria

The Presidential Staff Achievement Award committee will select one candidate each from the exempt and non-exempt employment classifications.  Winners will be chosen based on degree of adherence to Critical Leadership Competencies of a Catholic and Marianist University, as well as the the measure of each nominee's impact on UD's mission and strategy.

The University President will present each winner's award at the annual Spring Staff Meeting.

2018 Winners
Jill Talley
Administrative Assistant, University Honors Program
View Jill's Citation
Mandy Bingaman
MBA Program Manager, School of Business
View Mandy's Citation
2017 Winners
Reggie Stringer
Store Keeper, Dining Services
View Reggie's Citation
Bruce Bullman
Director of Residential Properties, Facilities Management
View Bruce's Citation
2016 Winners
Patsy Martin
Associate Registrar, Enrollment Management and Marketing
View Patsy's Citation
Teresa Terrell
Groundskeeper, Facilities Management
View Teresa's Citation
2015 Winners
Nancy Terrell
Senior Administrative Assistant; Department of Sociology, Anthropology and Social Work
View Nancy's Citation
Bro. Tom Pieper, SM
Campus Minister, UD Campus Ministry
View Tom's Citation
2014 Winners
Mary Eilbeck
Associate Director, Resident Dining and Central Production
View Mary's Citation
Susan Terbay
Administrative Secretary, Center for Social Concern
View Susan's Citation

Human Resources

St. Mary's Hall
300 College Park
Dayton, Ohio 45469 - 1649