Skip to main content

von Ohain Fuels and Combustion Center

von Ohain Endowed Chair

Dr. Markus P. Rumpfkeil, professor, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, is the current Hans von Ohain Endowed Chair in Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering.

Dr. Rumpfkeil came to the University of Dayton in the fall of 2010. Before joining UD, he was a post-doctoral research assistant at the University of Wyoming working with Professor Dimitri Mavriplis. He received his Ph.D. from the University of Toronto Institute for Aerospace Studies (UTIAS) under the supervision of Professor Zingg for which he won a departmental award and was nominated for a University-wide medal. He also obtained a Diplom (a combined B.Sc. and M.Sc.) in physics from the Humboldt University of Berlin, Germany, with a minor in mathematics.

Dr. Rumpfkeil is an associate fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA), and his research interest is in the broad area of uncertainty quantification and design optimization applied to computational fluid dynamics problems in which he has published more than seventy peer reviewed journal and conference papers. He has also been active in service to both the university and the broader research community as a member of the Executive Committee of the Academic Senate, various leadership positions on the AIAA Technical Committee Non-Deterministic Approaches, organizing regional and national conferences as well as reviewing articles for various journals. For more details, please visit Dr. Rumpfkeil's Google Scholar site.


To be recognized as a national and international resource for quality, state-of-the-art research and efficient technology transfer.


The von Ohain Chair conducts high-caliber research in modeling, simulation and/or experimentation as applied to Aerospace engineering areas.

Hans von Ohain
von Ohain was co-inventor of the jet engine and chief scientist at Wright-Patterson Air Force Base's Aerospace Research Laboratories and Air Force Aero Propulsion Laboratory in Dayton, Ohio, as well as a former University of Dayton professor of mechanical engineering. He retired in 1979.

Dr. Markus Rumpfkeil, Hans von Ohain Endowed Chair in Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Kettering Laboratories
300 College Park
Dayton, Ohio 45469 - 0238