Skip to main content

Lidar and Optical Communications Institute


LOCI membership is comprised of representatives from the LOCI constituencies: government (AFRL and AFIT), UD, and industry.

Industry membership requires a donation of $250,000, which may be contributed at a minimum level of $50,000 per year over five years (total of $250,000). Initially, the funds were used to endow a LOCI chaired professor. UD also contributed $1,500,000 toward the endowed LOCI chair position. The membership fee provides Lifetime Membership with a voting seat on the Board of Governors (BOG) and membership in the University of Dayton’s John Stuart Society (an honorary society that honors major contributors to the University).

The BOG Chair position will come from industry sponsors and each Chair’s term is one year. The BOG will determine conditions for membership beyond the founding members.


Lockhheed Martin LogoNorthrop Grumman Logo

Boeing LogoRaytheon Logo

BAE Systems LogoTextron Systems


Lidar and Optical Communications Institute

Fitz Hall
300 College Park
Dayton, Ohio 45469 - 2950