12th Annual Thomas C. Hunt Building a Research Community Day

School of Education and Health Sciences faculty and staff gathered April 7, 2017, for the 12th Annual Thomas C. Hunt Building a Research Community Day. The day began with an introduction by organizer Treavor Bogard (Teacher Education), and a welcome and awards presentation by SEHS Dean Kevin R. Kelly.

Awards were presented to the following faculty members:

  • Scholarship Award for Tenured Faculty: Mary Fisher (Physical Therapy)
  • Junior Scholarship Award for Tenure-track Faculty: Jackie Arnold (Teacher Education) & Mary-Kate Sableski (Teacher Education)
  • Scholarship Award for Clinical Faculty: Lesley Evans (Teacher Education)
  • Teaching Award for Tenured Faculty: Kurt Jackson (Physical Therapy)
  • Teaching Award for Clinical Faculty: Jennifer Dalton (Health & Sport Science)
  • Service Award for Clinical Faculty: Beth Engelhardt (Teacher Education)

The SEHS Lifetime Achievement Award for Contributions to Research in Education was awarded posthumously to Dr. Joseph Watras (Teacher Education), who worked at UD from 1979-2016. His accomplishments include six published books, six book chapters, 75 published journal articles, and more than 40 presentations in the five years prior to 2016. His wife, Christina, accepted the award on her husband's behalf.

Presenters throughout the day included: Building a Research Community Day 2017 schedule

Click here to view a larger version of the schedule & topics >>