See UD's plans for teaching, learning and research this fall with measures to promote safety and lessen the risk of COVID-19 spread. See UD case dashboard here.

Skip to main content

Opportunities for School Psychology Students

Student organizations/clubs

  • School Psychologists of the University of Dayton (SPUD): Provides opportunities for leadership, service, fundraising, professional development, and social activities. It was the first officially recognized graduate student organization on campus. Students can participate in events like Walk for Autism, Walk for Independence, UD's Christmas on Campus, and intramural sports.

Work as a graduate assistant

Students must apply and must be full time to receive graduate assistantships. Graduate assistants are typically employed for 20 hours per week on a 9-month contract and they receive partial tuition remission and a monthly stipend.

School Psychology students can be placed in on- and off-campus assistantships, including:

UD School of Education and Health Sciences
Additional on-campus locations
Off-campus locations

Study abroad

School Psychology students have the unique opportunity to take their studies and service abroad. Learn more about study abroad opportunities >>

Regional and national organizations

  • Graduate Community Fellows: Help build community partnerships to benefit the wider Dayton community, while enhancing the learning experience of University of Dayton students through service.
  • National Association of School Psychologists: Provides support for school psychologists through scholarships, grants, professional development opportunities, information sharing and other means to enable them to better serve students.
  • Ohio School Psychologists Association: Promotes quality mental health services and academic support to help children and adolescents to succeed socially, emotionally, and academically.
  • Southwest Ohio School Psychologists' Association: A branch of Ohio School Psychologists Association that serves ten counties (including Hamilton, Butler, Warren, Clermont, Preble, Montgomery, Green, Clark, Clinton, and Fayette) in Southwest Ohio.

Department of Counselor Education and Human Services

Fitz Hall
300 College Park
Dayton, Ohio 45469 - 2962