Skip to main content

University Inclusive Excellence Council

Primary Function of Inclusive Excellence Council

The Inclusive Excellence Council is a permanent standing council of the University of Dayton, established for the purpose of advancing and supporting efforts across the University to achieve and sustain inclusive excellence.

Its primary functions include:

• Advise the University’s president and vice president for diversity and inclusion on Universitywide strategic and organizational matters related to diversity, equity and inclusion at the University of Dayton.

• Serve as an organizational mechanism to cultivate and sustain synergy and collaboration of initiatives and programming related to diversity, equity and inclusion across the University.

• Monitor and report on the University’s progress in the execution of the The Flyers Plan for Community Excellence, the University’s diversity, equity and inclusion strategic plan for 2020–24.

• Make recommendations for effective internal and external communication of University initiatives in the areas of diversity, equity and inclusion.

• Work to identify and advance systemic structures, practices, policies and traditions that will advance diversity, equity and inclusion, while also removing barriers of the same type.


Council Members 2020-2021

Joanna Abdallah
President of the Graduate Student Association

Nabil Abouzahra
Staff Representative

Merida Allen
Executive Director of Multi-Ethnic Education & Engagement Center, and Associate Dean of Students

Amy Anderson
Associate Provost for Global & Intercultural Affairs

Kim Bakota
Executive Director for Equity Compliance and Title IX/Section 504 Coordinator

Shane Borah
Student Representative (Graduate)

Lisa Borello
Director of the Women’s Center

Lawrence Burnley
Vice President for Diversity & Inclusion (co-chair)

Natalie Coppolino
President of the Student Government Association

Kathleen Costales
Faculty Representative, Associate Professor of Global Languages & Cultures

Samuel Dorf
Associate Professor of Music; Vice President of the Academic Senate

Kristen Altenau Keen
Assistant Dean of Students and Director of the Brook Center

Sangita Gosalia
Staff Representative, Director of Campus Engagement in Center for International Programs

John Harrelson
Director of the Office of Learning Resources

Sara Harrison
Executive Director of Procurement and Payable Services

Chief Savalas Kidd
Assistant Vice President for Public Safety and Chief of Police

Jay Mathews
Faculty Representative, Associate Professor of Physics

Carolyn Roecker Phelps
Associate Provost for Faculty & Administrative Affairs

Leslie Picca
Faculty Co-Chair, Professor of Sociology and Roesch Chair in the Social Sciences

Shara Shrestha
Student Representative (Undergraduate)

Carlos Stewart
Senior Associate Director of Development, Diversity and Access Initiatives for Advancement and Alumni Relations

Crystal Sullivan
Executive Director of Campus Ministry

Tiffany Taylor Smith
Assistant Vice President for Diversity and Inclusion 

Troy Washington
Vice President for Human Resources

Kathleen Webb
Dean of University Libraries

Donnell Wiggins
Assistant Vice President for Recruitment and Admission

Molly Wilson
Vice President for Marketing and Communications


Office of Diversity and Inclusion

St. Mary's Hall
300 College Park
Dayton, Ohio 45469 - 1626