Skip to main content


Sarah Jones-Rao

Adjunct Faculty, Violin


College of Arts and Sciences: Music


Email: Sarah Jones-Rao
FH 468
Website: Visit Site


  • DMA, Violin Performance, University of Michigan
  • M.M., Violin Performance and Suzuki Pedagogy, Cleveland Institute of Music
  • B.M., Violin Performance, Cleveland Institute of Music


Dr. Sarah Jones-Rao has performed as a soloist and chamber musician throughout the U.S., Europe and China. She has served on the faculty at San Jose State University as assistant professor of violin and viola, coordinator of strings and director of the SJSU String Project. She has held teaching positions at Arkansas State University (where she also served as strings area coordinator and director of the university orchestra and youth orchestra), Wayne State University and the University of Michigan. Dr. Jones has also taught at the Cleveland Institute of Music’s preparatory department, Interlochen Summer Camp and Violin Institute and Interharmony International Music Festival in Acqui Terme, Italy. She has presented masterclasses at Southwest, Shenzen, Lingnan Normal and Shanqui Normal universities in China, The Music Academy in Olsztyn, Poland, Interlochen’s Violin Institute, The University of Oregon and the University of Oklahoma among others.

As an orchestral musician, Sarah has served as concertmaster of the North Mississippi Symphony Orchestra and associate concertmaster of the Delta Symphony Orchestra. She has been a member of Canton Symphony Orchestra and has played with many of the San Francisco Bay Area orchestras as well as Dayton Philharmonic Orchestra, Springfield, Akron, Traverse and Arkansas symphony orchestras. She has also appeared as soloist with the Polish Forum Sinfonia, Silicon Valley Philharmonic, Chamber Music Silicon Valley, Delta Symphony Orchestra and the Southeastern Ohio Symphony Orchestra.

Dr. Jones holds a Doctor of Musical Arts degree in violin performance from the University of Michigan and received her Bachelor of Music in violin performance and Master of Music in violin performance and Suzuki pedagogy from the Cleveland Institute of Music.

Selected publications

Johann Paul von Westhoff Six Suites for Solo Violin (