Skip to main content


Who's Publishing What: Blackout

Publishers Weekly calls Erin Flanagan’s new novel, Blackout (Thomas & Mercer), “a gripping psychological thriller . . . Flanagan keeps the reader guessing to the surprising climax. She remains a writer to watch.”

Her novel Deer Season (University of Nebraska Press) won the 2022 Edgar for Best First Novel by an American Author and is a finalist for the Midwest Book Awards in Fiction (Literary/Contemporary/Historical).

She is also the author of two short story collections — The Usual Mistakes and It’s Not Going to Kill You and Other Stories — both published by UNP. She’s held fellowships to Yaddo, MacDowell, The Sewanee Writers’ Conference, The Breadloaf Writers’ Conference, UCross and The Vermont Studio Center.

Erin, an English professor at Wright State University, lives in Dayton, Ohio, with her husband, daughter, two cats and two dogs.

Previous Post

Who's Publishing What: The Perfect Neighborhood

Liz Alterman's newest novel, The Perfect Neighborhood, will be published in July in the U.S. as well as the UK.
Read More
Next Post

The Birds and the Bees Are in Reboot

"You couldn't have!" my daughter-in-law said, as I answered the phone. She sounded out of breath and in what appeared to be total shock. I could not recall any felonies I had committed recently and finally said, "Huh, what?"
Read More