Skip to main content

Liberal Arts Scholarship Catalyst Grants Program

2020 Awards

We are pleased to announce the recipients of the 2020 College of Arts and Sciences Liberal Arts Scholarship Catalyst (LASC) grants.

The nine projects funded this year had specific and compelling visions for advancing faculty scholarship, meeting professional goals, and elevating liberal arts scholarship and creative work. They also clearly articulated anticipated contributions to the foundational commitments and research thrusts of the University’s Strategic Vision.

The 2020 LASC grant recipients:

  • Dorian Borbonus (Department of History): GIS Map of Funerary Monuments in Imperial Rome
  • David Darrow (Department of History): The Spread of Empire: Siberia, the Global Butter Industry and Peasant Cooperative Production
  • Miranda Hallett (Department of Sociology, Anthropology and Social Work): More than Survival: Salvadoran migrants, sanctuary, and life in the diaspora
  • Erin O'Mara Kunz (Department of Psychology): Examining self-esteem across the menstrual cycle
  • Sayeh Meisami (Department of Philosophy): Philosophy of Logic in the Faith-Based Metaphysics of Mulla Sadra
  • Shazia Rahman (Department of English): The Environment of South Asia: Literary and Cinematic Representations
  • Viorel Paslaru (Department of Philosophy): What’s in the Name of a Language? Science, Values and Diversity
  • Anthony Smith (Department of Religious Studies): From Rome to Hollywood: Italian Cinema in Cold War America
  • Patrick Thomas (Department of English): Developing the Repository of Social Media Writing: Expanding Collaborative Digital Writing Research Spaces, Methods, and Practices

Please join us in congratulating this year’s grant recipients. We are excited about this opportunity to advance liberal arts scholarship and creative work at the University.



Liberal Arts Scholarship Catalyst Grants Program

300 College Park
Dayton, Ohio 45469