Mann Chair in the Sciences

The Brother Leonard A. Mann, S.M. Chair in the Sciences recognizes outstanding accomplishments in and contributions to scholarship in the sciences. The position is named in honor of Brother Leonard A. Mann, S. M., former dean of the College of Arts and Sciences and professor of physics. Bro. Mann has been described as a true servant-leader in the Marianist tradition. He tirelessly served his church, his order, his colleagues, and most of all, his students. At the time of his death in 1995, Bro. Mann had served as a Marianist brother for 61 years.

Dr. Panagiotis Tsonis of the Department of Biology was the first to serve as Mann Chair. Dr. Peter Powers of the Department of Physics served as the second chair until his death in 2014.

The current chair is Dr. Shawn Swavey, Department of Chemistry. Dr. Swavey joined the department in 2002. He earned a B.S. in Chemistry from Edinboro University in 1991, and after a year in industry, he attended Case Western Reserve University and received his Ph.D. in Bioinorganic Chemistry in 1998. He collaborates regularly with faculty from the departments of Biology and Chemical Engineering, as well as a number of faculty at other universities.