The Department of Sociology, Anthropology and Social Work offers Bachelor of Arts degrees in sociology and criminal justice, as well as minors in sociology, anthropology, social work and criminal justice. The minors are designed to fit well with the two majors we offer, and can also be combined with any other major in the College. We are a faculty of eleven sociologists, one social worker, three anthropologists, and a community coordinator that runs the internship program. The department has a teaching-learning focus on the local community. Students are encouraged to use the local community as a site for examining various issues, problems and concepts studied in class. Students majoring in Sociology have the opportunity to conduct their own research as part of their Senior Project capstone experience, and many juniors and seniors are placed in local agencies and organizations for internships that provide useful, firsthand experiences.

In the News

Cruising Chinese Waterways

The University of Dayton and Fuyao Glass America have teamed up on a new course that utilizes sociology, political science and economics to study the effect of China's growth on its waterways, and includes a three-week tour to examine key waterways first-hand.

Read More

Related Links

Find Us.

Department of Sociology

St. Joseph Hall 429 
300 College Park 
Dayton, Ohio 45469 - 1442