Skip to main content

Premedical Programs

Premedical program scholarships

The Premedical Program annually offers three scholarships to current sophomores and juniors: the Eleanora S. Everhard Scholarship, the Dr. Steven E. and June H. Szabo Scholarship, and the Carl I. Michaelis Scholarship.

Funds for scholarships are derived from the generous support of members of the Dayton community. These funds help ensure that the top pre-professional students are rewarded for their excellent achievements at the University of Dayton.

Scholarship and eligibility details

This private scholarship was established by Eleanora S. Everhard in memory of her parents, Aaron and Ann Vennette Everhard and is administered by The Dayton Foundation. The original fund was established in 1933. This scholarship is limited to one academic year only, and is not renewable. Preference for the Everhard Scholarships is given to females who are in a premedical curriculum.

This scholarship was established through a gift from the estate of Dr. Carl I. Michaelis in 2001. Dr. Michaelis was a Professor of Chemistry whose teaching career began in 1954 at UD and spanned 36 years. Among numerous awards, Michaelis was recognized as Professor of the Year and was runner-up for the Alumni Outstanding Faculty Award in 1963. In 1987 he was nominated for Distinguished Service Professor and was appointed professor emeritus in 1988.

As well as teaching, Michaelis advised premedical and predental students and served as the faculty advisor for the student affiliate of the American Chemical Society for 33 years.

Applicants for any scholarship offered through the Premedical Programs office must be second-year sophomore or third-year junior students enrolled at the University of Dayton who intend to apply to a primary health care professional school (medicine, dentistry, optometry, etc.). They must have registered with the Premedical Programs office, be active within the program, and be currently advised by one of the designated premedical advisors.

  • The scholarship must be used to defray the expenses of tuition, fees, and/or room and board at UD.
  • The amount of the awards can vary, depending on the qualifications and needs of the student.
  • Scholarships are awarded primarily on the basis of evidence for satisfactory academic performance and moderate financial need. The selection committee is comprised of premedical advisors.
  • Applications become available during the second semester of the academic year. Awards are announced in April.

Important notes about the application:

  • You will identify your faculty recommenders in the application. It is important that you ask two faculty if they will submit a recommendation. They will receive an email from Premedical Programs after the application deadline with directions on completing the recommendation.
  • You are asked to identify programs in which you have participated at UD. These include programs sponsored by Premedical Programs such as Alpha Epsilon Delta, MAPS, Dental Interest Group, Healing Hearts, International Medical Experience,  and UD & Miami Valley Hospital Healthcare Symposium.
  • You must complete the entire Scholarship Application through the portal linked below, EXCEPT the financial section which is no longer required.

Premedical program grants

The Dr. Stephen E. and June H. Szabo Grant has been established through a gift from the estates of Dr. Stephen E. and June H. Szabo in 1999. Dr. Szabo graduated from the University of Dayton in 1935 majoring in Pre-Dentistry. Professionally, Dr. Szabo was a well-respected oral surgeon in the Dayton area. During his practice, which spanned over 50 years, he fought for and paved the way for all oral surgeons in and around the Dayton area to have privileges to operate in all hospitals. As a result of his efforts, he was on the staff of every hospital in Dayton.

Grant details

Students at the University of Dayton regularly avail themselves of service or research experiences both on and off campus. The Szabo Grants provide students with an avenue to gain financial resources to make these experiences feasible.

Applicants for a Dr. Stephen E. and June H. Szabo Grant must be students who intend to apply to a primary health care professional school (medicine, dentistry, optometry, etc.), have registered with the Premedical Programs Office and are active within the Program, and are currently being advised by one of the designated premedical advisors.

Applicants must submit a proposal directly to the Director of Premedical Programs. The proposal must include the following:

  • A statement of the project and its goals, 
  • The location where the project will be carried out.
  • A complete budget for the experience and designation of specific amount of funding requested through a Szabo Grant.
  • Statement of how the experience will be valuable to the premedical/predental education of the applicant.
  • A statement of how the results of the project will be shared with the UD community. 

Contact Elizabeth Rhoads in the Premedical Programs office for more information on the application process and future deadlines.


Premedical Programs

Science Center
300 College Park
Dayton, Ohio 45469 - 2361