Skip to main content



The University of Dayton is a fully accredited institutional member of the National Association of Schools of Music (NASM). NASM, founded in 1924, is an organization of schools, conservatories, colleges and universities with approximately 647 accredited institutional members. It establishes national standards for undergraduate and graduate degrees and other credentials.  Institutional membership is gained through the peer review process of accreditation.

NASM participates in the national conversation about educational issues with special emphases on art and design, the arts, and higher education.

The Association also provides counsel and assistance to established and developing institutions and programs. NASM is recognized by the United States Department of Education as the agency responsible for the accreditation of all art and design curricula.


Department of Music

Fitz Hall
300 College Park
Dayton, Ohio 45469 - 2946