Skip to main content


Our Undergraduate Programs

Our three undergraduate programs of study are the Bachelor of Science in mathematics (MTH), the Bachelor of Arts in mathematics (MTA), and the Bachelor of Science in applied mathematical economics (MTE). Our programs are intended to serve students who plan to pursue careers related to engineering and science, or who plan to enter graduate study in any area of the mathematical sciences (which includes actuarial science and statistics). The Department of Mathematics collaborates with the Department of Economics and Finance to offer the MTE program, which prepares students for graduate study in economics. The MTA program gives a liberal arts option to students who want to develop concentrations in areas leading to careers in business, education or the social sciences. Students may also participate in the teacher licensure program, offered through the School of Education and Health Sciences.

Interested in learning about our department?

We’d love to meet with you. Schedule an academic appointment by calling our department at 937-229-2511 or email the department chair Dr. Wiebke Diestelkamp at If you’d like to schedule a general campus visit or tour, learn about the options available through the link below.

Schedule a visit

Department of Mathematics

Science Center
300 College Park
Dayton, Ohio 45469 - 2316