Skip to main content

32nd Summer Conference on Topology and Its Applications

32nd Summer Conference on Topology and Its Applications

The 32nd Summer Conference on Topology and its Applications took place June 27 – 30, 2017 at the University of Dayton in Dayton, Ohio, USA. The conference featured five sessions, each with a plenary speaker and two semi-plenary speakers. Additional plenary speakers included the recipient of the 2016 Mary Ellen Rudin Young Researchers Award.

For information about the plenary speakers, semi-plenary speakers and contributed talks at the conference, use the Presentations link on the left of this page.


  • Topology + Algebra and Analysis
    Co-Chairs: Salvador Hernadez, Gabor Lukacs, and Frederic Mynard
  • Topology + Asymmetric Structures
    Co-chairs: Michael Bukatin, Ralph Kopperman and Olivier Olela Otafudu
  • Topology + Dynamics and Continuum Theory
    Co-Chairs: Lori Alvin and Jonathan Meddaugh
  • Topology + Foundations
    Co-Chairs: Alan Dow and John (Ted) Porter
  • Topology + Geometry
    Co-Chairs: Pallavi Dani and Max Forester


Invited Speakers:
  • Ian Biringer, Boston College
  • Jan Boronski, AGH Krakow & IT4Innovations Ostrava
  • Isabel Garrido, Universidad Complutense Madrid
  • Helge Glockner, Paderborn University
  • Eriko Hironaka, Florida State
  • Karl H. Hofmann, Technische Universitaet Darmstadt and Tulane University, New Orleans
  • Jen Hom, Georgia Tech
  • Jean Lafont, The Ohio State University
  • Olga Lukina, University of Illinois, Chicago
  • Kathryn Mann, University of California, Berkeley (2016 Mary Ellen Rudin Award winner)
  • Paul McKenney, Miami University 
  • Michael Mislove, Tulane University
  • Janusz Prajs, California State University, Sacramento
  • Tom Richmond, Western Kentucky University
  • Reynaldo Rojas-Hernandez, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México
  • Walter Tholen, York University
  • Vladimir Tkachuk, Universidad Autonoma Metropolitana
  • Ted Porter (Murray State University): Monotone Covering Properties*
  • Dikran Dikranjan (Udine University): Entropy in Topological Groups



University of Dayton Organizing Committee:
  • Jon Brown
  • Joe Mashburn
  • Vicki Withrow
  • Lynne Yengulalp
Scientific Committee:
  • Natalie Frank, Vassar College
  • Gary Gruenhage, Auburn University
  • Ralph Kopperman, The City College of New York
  • Krystyna Kuperberg, Auburn University
  • Vladimir Tkachuk, Universidad Autónoma Metropolitana
The National Science Foundation

This conference is made possible partly through NSF funding.

Learn more about the National Science Foundation (www) >


Department of Mathematics

Science Center
300 College Park
Dayton, Ohio 45469 - 2316