group around Chaminade statue

2014-2015 Academic Calendar

The University of Dayton publishes its academic calendar on an annual basis so our community can plan ahead.

However, please note that future event dates are subject to change.  

Fall Semester 2014

Mon, Aug 4 Degrees conferred--no ceremony
Wed, Aug 20 New Graduate Assistant Orientation 8:30 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Thu, Aug 21 New Faculty Orientation
Sat, Aug 23 Incoming First Year Students move-in day
Sat-Tue, Aug 23-26 New Student Orientation
Sun, Aug 24 Upperclass students move into UD Housing
Tue, Aug 26 New Student Convocation
Tue, Aug 26 Last day to complete registration
Wed, Aug 27 Classes begin at 8:00 a.m.
Mon, Sep 1 Labor Day--no classes
Wed, Sep 3 Last day for late registration, change of grading options and schedules
Fri, Sep 5 Faculty Meeting (Boll Theatre)
Tue, Sep 9 Last day to change Second Session and full Summer Term grades
Wed, Sep 17 Last day to drop classes without record
Fri, Sep 19 Academic Senate Meeting (KU Ballroom)
Fri-Sun, Sep 19-21 Family Weekend
Wed, Oct 8 Mid-Term Break begins after last class
Mon, Oct 13 Classes resume at 8:00 a.m.
Wed, Oct 15 Last day for Graduate and Doctoral students to apply for December 2014 graduation
Fri, Oct 17 Academic Senate Meeting (KU Ballroom)
Wed, Oct 22 First-Year students' midterm progress grades due by 4:00 p.m.
Sat, Nov 1 Last day for Undergraduate students to apply for May 2015 graduation
Mon, Nov 10 Last day to drop classes with record of W
Fri, Nov 14 Academic Senate Meeting (KU Ballroom)
Tue, Nov 25 Thanksgiving recess begins after last class
Sat, Nov 29 Saturday classes meet
Mon, Dec 1 Classes resume at 8:00 a.m.
Mon, Dec 8 Feast of the Immaculate Conception/Christmas on Campus--no classes
Fri, Dec 12 Academic Senate Meeting (KU Ballroom)
Fri, Dec 12 Last day of classes
Sat, Dec 13 Study Day
Sun, Dec 14 Study Day
Mon-Fri, Dec 15-19 Exams--Fall Term ends after final examinations
Fri, Dec 19 University Housing closes for Christmas Break at 6:00 p.m.
Sat, Dec 20 Diploma Exercises at 9:45 a.m.
Tue, Dec 23 Grades due by 9:00 a.m.
Fri, Dec 26 Grades posted
Mon, Jan 26 Last day to change Fall Term grades

Christmas Break

Sun, Dec 21 Christmas Break begins
Sun, Jan 11 Christmas Break ends

Spring Semester 2015

Fri, Jan 9 Last day to complete registration
Mon, Jan 12 Classes begin at 8:00 a.m.
Fri, Jan 16 Academic Senate Meeting (KU Ballroom)
Fri, Jan 16 Last day for late registration, change of grading options and schedules
Mon, Jan 19 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day--no classes
Mon, Jan 26 Last day to change Fall Term grades
Sun, Feb 1 Last day for Graduate and Doctoral students to apply for May 2015 graduation 
Mon, Feb 2 Last day to drop classes without record
Fri, Feb 6 Joint Senate/Faculty Meeting (Boll Theatre)
Fri, Feb 20 Academic Senate Meeting (KU Ballroom)
Wed, Mar 4 Mid-Term Break begins after last class 
Thu, Mar 5 Thursday only Graduate classes meet
Mon, Mar 9 Classes resume at 8:00 a.m.
Wed, Mar 11 First-Year students' midterm progress grades due by 4:00 p.m.
Fri, Mar 13 Academic Senate Meeting (KU Ballroom)
Sun, Mar 15 Last day for Undergraduate students to apply for August 2015 graduation
Wed, Apr 1 Last day for Undergraduate students to apply for December 2015 graduation
Wed, Apr 1 Easter Recess begins after last class
Mon, Apr 6 Easter Monday--no day classes--classes resume at 4:30 p.m.
Wed, Apr 8 Last day to drop classes with record of W
Wed, Apr 15 Bro. Joseph W. Stander Symposium-Alternate Day of Learning
Fri, Apr 17 Academic Senate Meeting (KU Ballroom)
Fri, Apr 24 Last day of classes
Sat, Apr 25 Study Day
Sun, Apr 26 Study Day
Mon-Fri, Apr 27-May 1 Exams--Spring Term ends after final examinations
Sat, May 2 Doctoral/Graduate Commencement Exercises at 12:45 pm
Sun, May 3 Undergraduate Commencement Exercises at 9:45 a.m.
Tue, May 5 Grades due by 9:00 a.m.
Thu, May 7 Grades posted
Fri, May 8 Faculty Meeting (Boll Theatre)
Mon, Jun 8 Last day to change Spring Term grades

Summer Semester 2015 - First Session

Fri, May 8 Last day to complete registration
Sat, May 9 Saturday classes begin
Mon, May 11 Classes begin at 8:00 a.m.
Tue, May 12 Last day for late Summer Term-First Session registration, change of grading options and schedules
Thu, May 14 Last day for late full Summer Term registration, change of grading options and schedules
Wed, May 20 Last day to drop without record from First Session classes
Mon, May 25 Memorial Day--no classes
Mon, Jun 1 Last day to drop without record from full Summer Term classes
Mon, Jun 8 Last day to drop with record of W from First Session classes
Mon, Jun 8 Last day to change Spring Term grades
Fri-Sat, Jun 19-20 Exams--full Summer Term classes do not meet
Fri-Sat, Jun 19-20 First Session ends after final examinations
Tue, Jun 23 Grades due by 9:00 a.m.
Thu, Jun 25 Grades posted
Wed, Jul 1 Last day for Graduate and Doctoral students to apply for August 2015 graduation
Tue, Jul 28 Last day to change First Session grades

Summer Semester 2015 - Second Session

Fri, Jun 19 Last day to complete registration
Sat, Jun 20 Saturday classes begin
Mon, Jun 22 Second Session classes begin
Tue, Jun 23 Last day for late Summer Term-Second Session registration, change of grading options and schedules
Wed, Jul 1 Last day for Graduate and Doctoral students to apply for August 2015 graduation
Wed, Jul 1 Last day to drop without record from Second Session classes
Fri, Jul 3 Independence Day observed--no classes
Mon, Jul 13 Last day to drop with record of W from Second Session and full Summer Term classes
Tue, Jul 28 Last day to change First Session grades
Fri-Sat, Jul 31-Aug 1 Exams--Second Session and full Summer Term end after final examinations
Mon, Aug 3 Degrees conferred--no ceremony
Tue, Aug 4 Grades due by 9:00 a.m.
Thu, Aug 6 Grades posted
Tue, Sep 8 Last day to change Second Session and full Summer Term grades

Note from the University Calendar Committee

The dates of all Academic Senate and General Faculty meetings will be posted to the calendar when they are determined.

Please consult the Human Resources Holiday Schedule for university office closings.

The university strives to have the best educational experience possible and is constantly looking at ways to improve the learning environment. We would appreciate any constructive feedback regarding changes, adjustments, etc. to the current and future calendars. The feedback will be reviewed and used by the University Calendar Committee when determining future calendars. Please send all comments to calendar@udayton.edu. Thank you.

February 27, 2014