Welcome to the Office of the Dean.

The College of Arts and Sciences is at the center of the diverse community of the University of Dayton, flourishing within the broader context of a comprehensive university. The College is committed to lifelong intellectual, professional, and personal growth through learning in the humanities, the performing and visual arts, the sciences, and the social sciences.

We are organized into eighteen departments and seven interdisciplinary program areas. We also sponsor the Fitz Center for Leadership in Community. Our more than 240 faculty members support forty-seven specific undergraduate degree programs across a range of disciplines representing the humanities, the sciences, the social sciences, and the performing and visual arts. We offer twenty-four programs leading to a Bachelor of Arts, sixteen to a Bachelor of Science, four to a Bachelor of Fine Arts, four to a Bachelor of Music, and a Bachelor of General Studies, which is a non-traditional degree program.

At the graduate level the College supports Master of Arts programs in English, communication, pastoral ministries, psychology, and theological studies; Master of Science programs in biology, chemistry, and applied mathematics; a Master of Computer Science, and a Master of Public Administration. We also support three Doctor of Philosophy programs in biology, theology, and electro-optics.The College provides instruction to students in communication skills, critical thinking, social and cultural criticism, computation, scientific reasoning, historical analysis, and religious and moral awareness. These qualities are fundamental and essential to each student's full and integral development as a broadly educated person. We serve not only our own students, but also the students of the professional schools; ensuring that basic, as well as applied fields of study, are available to all students.