Welcome to the University of Dayton's Academic Senate Website

2013-14 Senate Officers:

President:  Carolyn Roecker Phelps

Vice-President:  Linda Hartley

Secretary:  Emily Hicks

Senate Membership

Academic Senate
The Academic Senate is the representative body responsible for academic and educational policies of the University of Dayton having significant, university-wide impact. Its membership includes faculty, administrators, and students. 

Executive Committee of the Academic Senate (ECAS)
The term of office on the Executive Committee of the Academic Senate (ECAS) is two years, except for student representatives who serve one year and also cases noted below where the individual elected will be completing the remainder of a term.  ECAS usually meets once per week.  Like all Senators, ECAS members will attend one Academic Senate meeting per month and one-to-two meetings per month for the subcommittee to which they are assigned. 

Three Academic Senate standing committees are:
Academic Policies Committee (APC)
Work may entail consideration of degree requirements, standards for development of curriculum program evaluations and curricular options. 

Faculty Affairs Committee (FAC)
Work may entail consideration of the faculty grievance process, standards of evaluation, sabbaticals, professional development, research and promotions. 

Student Academic Policies Committee (SAPC)
Work may entail consideration of grading, attendance, examinations, cheating, plagiarism and grievance policies. 

science center pendulum

Meeting Dates, Agendas & Minutes

Academic Year 2013-14 Meeting Schedule

Fridays 3-5 p.m.
Kennedy Union Ballroom

Fall 2013
September 27
October 18
November 8 - Special Meeting
November 15
December 13

Spring 2014
January 17
February 7* Boll/Torch
February 14
March 14
April 25

*Joint Faculty/Senate Meeting

Academic Year 2013-14 Agendas

September 27, 2013 >>

October 18, 2013 >>

November 15, 2013 >>

December 13, 2013>>

January 17, 2014>>

February 14, 2014>>

March 14, 2014>>

Senate Documents & Resources

The Academic Senate Documents are archived in the University of Dayton's institutional repository eCommons, a service of the University Libraries.  eCommons is a space for content produced by our diverse campus community.  It is a permanent multimedia archive of UD's continuous pursuit of transformative education and world-changing research.  For more information about eCommons, please contact Kathy Webb, Dean of University Libraries, at 937-229-4265.